The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » What are some good close up tricks for me to use? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

DVS
View Profile
New user
40 Posts

Profile of DVS
I've been doing magic for about 3 months now.
DonB
View Profile
New user
58 Posts

Profile of DonB
Hi DVS,
It would be helpful for you to tell everyone what you are doing now. Then people could suggest things that are appropriate to your interests and skill level. What books, tapes, and/or DVD's do you have for reference, etc?

Trying to be helpful.

DonB
gtxby33
View Profile
Veteran user
347 Posts

Profile of gtxby33
I too have been doing magic for about 3 months. I like doing the coin matrix (original one). I'm so into cards I barely adopt coin effects.
white hats rule.
TheAmbitiousCard
View Profile
Eternal Order
Northern California
13425 Posts

Profile of TheAmbitiousCard
I believe Tenkai Pennies is a good place to start.

I learned it off of the Sankytized II video.

At the time I was telling myself... "I'll only do cards." I thought this was the right thing to do given how much there is to learn in magic. This way, I could concentrate on one thing instead of spreading myself thin over a bunch of stuff. I picked cards! (You picked coins, apparently).

I'll never forget the day I walked into the magic store and Sankeytized II was on the TV (one of the employees was checking it out and I could not help myself but to watch)
and I saw Jay Sankey perform Tenkai Pennies.

I remember immediately saying to myself...
"&%*%! Now I have to learn coins!!!!!" and I bought the video at that moment, threatening violence if they were down to just a demo copy.

That was probably THE best decision I ever made as a magician.

NOW.... Probably, bang for the buck, and considering that you are new to magic, the best place to learn this effect is off of Gregory Wilson's video "On The Spot".