The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » To coin wizards everywhere (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Fingers
View Profile
Inner circle
Pennsylvania, USA
1330 Posts

Profile of Fingers
As I said in my first post I am new to the art of coin magic. I am a male 51 Years of age, so I guess I am getting a late start. I decided to make coin magic my hobby and for a few months now I have been working on the basics. You coin wizards make everything look so easy. I really had no idea what I was getting myself into. Unbelievable!

I had no idea as a layperson what I was in for. Since I have seen some of the behind the scenes work, so to speak, I have realized how you look at every muscle and possible contortion and angle of the hand and it simply amazes me how technical simple little coin magic can get. I am totally humbled by what I have seen thus far and I know there is a lot I haven't seen yet.

Actually I am a technically natured person from the start. I am an electrical engineer and I have taught mathematics, physics and advanced electronics, so I am thrilled by the technical nature of sleight of hand, which totally knocked my socks off mainly, because it was so unexpected by me. I guess I should have known, but like I said people like Dan Watkins and David Roth and I'm sure plenty of others make it look so easy its hard to think otherwise. Don't get me wrong they explain the moves to make it as easy as possible, but that doesn't mean its easy.

As I sit here practicing palming one coin while I have 3 others in my hand (Winged Silver) and my fingers bleeding, not really, but it might come to that, I have only one thing to say. I had respect for coin magicians in the past, however I have developed an entirely deeper respect now! Keep up the good work. I am sure I will have plenty of questions in the future and I am going to need all the help I can get.