The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Hamon Frustration (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jonton
View Profile
Veteran user
New York City
336 Posts

Profile of Jonton
I have a question:

I was given a cups and balls routine that was written by a friend of a friend (Rucj Uffelman, with credits to Vernon, Colombini, Ireland, Tarbell, and Osborne), and in step 8 of the first phase, it says 'using the "Hamon Frustration" to show the bottom cup empty and place the top cup over the right hand ball, thereby loading a second ball under the cup...'

I probably didn't need to read the whole step, but what exactly is the Hamon Frustration. I'm rather new to cups and balls and the only person I've ever learned from was Gazzo, and he doesn't really give names to the sleights. Can someone please describe for me what this move looks like, or tell me how to execute it without much exposure?
Thanks!
~Jonathan
I Came, I Saw, I Conjured
www.jontaylornyc.com
Dave V
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas, NV
4824 Posts

Profile of Dave V
It's probably referring to Hamman's "Flushstration" which is a card move that flashes the bottom card implying that it's the top card.

For cups, I'd imagine it would be something like having the stack in your hand, flash the opening of the bottom cup and then remove the top cup of the stack and placing it on the table. Repeat the "flash" for the next cup, and then finally for the last one. Assuming the ball was under the top cup, it moved with the cup to the table to cover the ball already there, thus making you "one ahead."

It sounds like it would never work, but if done smoothly with the cups rotating in your hands, it's visually hard for the spectator to keep up.
No trees were killed in the making of this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
Jonton
View Profile
Veteran user
New York City
336 Posts

Profile of Jonton