The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Here I am (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

darkend
View Profile

0 Posts

Profile of darkend
Hi this is my first post here and I thought I would just introduce myself and stuff. I've been a student of magic for over a decade now, 95% of which has been spent with a deck of cards in my hand. I recently added a load of new books to the library and am looking forward to gorging myself silly over the Christmas holls.

Every trick I have ever done has been in as an amateur and am fairly certain that that will always be the way, not because I lack the will or I don’t believe I have the ability/talent but because I find it very difficult to appear calm and composed when faced with an audience (which is itself an ability so that’s a little bit of a contradiction but you know what I mean) Whether its adrenalin or fear, I cannot seem to stop my hands from shaking. Even though people have said that they thought it was part of the act, that I was purposely looking like I was unsure of what I was doing so the finish would pack an extra punch, I cant help but feel that I am neither doing myself or the art justice. I really want to appear smooth and in control. This is hard to do when a simple overhand shuffle results in cards on the ground. Where once I thought that this would be overcome with practice and experience I have found that if anything its actually getting worse so that its gotten to a stage where I duck out of a performance for even friends and family. Maybe it is not the amount of practice that counts but the type. Though what I am doing wrong, if anything at all, remains a mystery.