The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Need help (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mark334
View Profile
New user
6 Posts

Profile of mark334
Hey I'm new to magic and was just seeing what people think I should start with ie slights and things like that?. I just never seem to know the best place to get started has there is so much to learn and I'm not the brightess of people. cheers for any help
ToasterofDoom
View Profile
Special user
671 Posts

Profile of ToasterofDoom
Fundamentals before any tricks. I mean you can learn tricks, but fundamentals, such as cuts, palms, passes, DLs, fans will make your effects professional looking instead of the "hey look what I did over the weekend" type of magic you see on youtube. A book that will be recommended over and over will be Royal Road to Card Magic, a series of books that are invaluable, if not a bit pricey. I got started on my fundamentals with books I got from my library, and bought effects from there. For DVDs, I would choose Michael Ammar's Easy to Master Card Magic. That is, if you are into card magic.

Oh, and always remember to practice patter before performing. Impromptu is good, but a script allows you to improvise better, and give a better handling of the "flow" of the effect.

If you're really into performing right away, I would learn some self-workers or gimmicked effects so you can work on presentation, and how you act to an audience without worrying if you will mess up that difficult move you just picked up. Remember, it's not below yourself to perform self-workers. Even professionals, with years of experience on their belts, sometimes rely on them to produce spectacular effects.

Enjoy.
BrianMillerMagic
View Profile
Inner circle
CT
2050 Posts

Profile of BrianMillerMagic
Aha Mark I see you found the beginner's section already! In that case disregard half of my post over in the "Our New Arrivals" forum.