The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The clothes we wear » » Help finding dress clothes (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

gink103
View Profile
Regular user
117 Posts

Profile of gink103
Hi I’ve been working restaurants for a few months and have been usually wearing a full 3-piece suit. I would like to wear something that is somewhat more casual but still makes me stand out as being a professional.

I would a nice black silky shirt that I could wear without a tie, and would match with some dress pants and shoes. I couldn't find the shirt I'm looking for so any help or ideas would help.

Thanks
Jim Poor
View Profile
Special user
Fairfax, VA
676 Posts

Profile of Jim Poor
Depending on where you are and what you want to spend, I would recommend a trip to The Mens' Wearhouse. (Yes, I think they spell it that way on purpose).
Al Angello
View Profile
Eternal Order
Collegeville, Pa. USA
11045 Posts

Profile of Al Angello
If you want to be noticed I suggest a vest, or suspenders, or a hat.
Al Angello
Al Angello The Comic Juggler/Magician
http://www.juggleral.com
http://home.comcast.net/~juggleral/
"Footprints on your ceiling are almost gone"
blink_inc
View Profile
Loyal user
Hamilton
278 Posts

Profile of blink_inc
Use of colour or patterns can make you distinct.
Please don't over do the patterns though.

See a tailor or visit a menswear store and tell them what the purpose is and the image you are trying to portray.

Sometimes a hat or vest alone can make a difference. (I'm not saying wear just a hat or just a vest...you might not get the reaction you are looking for)

I recently went through a costuming excercise. I was after an urban, street magician look. I had some help from an enthusiastic saleslady, who came up with a 2007 village pauper look. Pageboy hat, cargo pants (great for storage) and a great looking shirt (kinda like a pirate shirt just no ruffles) to complete the look.