The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Dvd, Video tape, Audio tape & Compact discs. » » Bare Handed - My review (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Magix
View Profile
Elite user
432 Posts

Profile of Magix
OK, I am still very new to magic, so consider that when reading my beginner's opinion. (For a more in-depth review by a real coin guy, read Dan's review at http://www.coinvanish.com )

I paid $25.00 for Bare Handed. I think the price is a little high considering I could have gotten Ammar's Complete Introduction to Coin Magic on DVD for five dollars more. The tape contains 7 effects and a bonus move with cards.

But frankly, I am disappointed. Some of the effects require a specific way of dressing that does not fit my performance style. I can't say much more than that without giving away too much. Had I known, I wouldn't have bought it, but we all take risks when buying any magic product. Also, a couple of the effects require gimmicks, contrary to the advertising.

I also did not like the religious proselytizing on the tape. Nothing against religion, mind you, I just found it out of place and innapropriate. In other words, I bought the tape to learn, not to be saved.

The effects are nice and I may be able to use one or two of them.

I particularly liked the Bonus move with cards, but anyone who has worked with cards before probably already knows the move (I'm guessing here). But for me, a coin guy, it was nice to learn a quick card move that I can do if I happen to have a deck close by.

All in all, I didn't like it and will be offering it for trade at the Café. (How dumb am I? I should give it a great review and then put it up for trade... or trade it away and then post my bad review.Smile ) but seriously, I didn't like it only because it doesn't fit MY style. It may be great for someone else. And at the price I will offer it for, it will be a better risk.

Hope this was helpful.
Dan Watkins