The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » I had a real moment tonight! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

the levitator
View Profile
Special user
Spellbound Productions
546 Posts

Profile of the levitator
WOW, what a rush! I am admittedly fairly new to mentalism. I've been performing primarily as a mentalist for the last 2 1/2 years. I had previously been performing as a bizarre/shock entertainer for 6 years prior to that. Tonight I had a remarkable experience that I wanted to share. One of my favorite routines is a standard drawing duplication routine. I believe the boards I use are from Bavli. Well, I was performing for the City of Whitewater's city employee banquet, and it was very humid. Needless to say, my "method" for discerning the audience participant's image didn't work, so I literally had to just take a shot. The lady was chosen at random (I toss a bean bag ball into the audience and have it tossed around a bit). The only bit of information I had heard pre-show about this woman is that she was a teacher for 30 years. I always try to set up as early as possible and stand behind my backdrop and try to glean any bits of info that I can at a show. Well, I took a shot, and drew a house but then for some reason I thought it might be a bit more detailed than that, so I put a weather vane on the top, making it look more like an old-time barn. It turned out that she had drawn and old-fashioned school house with a bell on the roof. It wasn't perfect, but the audience went berserk! And that's saying something because a majority of the group were retiree volunteers! I know for a fact that I was just lucky as heck, but it was such a great moment, and I milked it for all it was worth!