The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Really Stupid Newb question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Cryozombie
View Profile
New user
Chicago
13 Posts

Profile of Cryozombie
Since I am new to magic, I have seen quite a few things done, and can do some simple stuff, but I see the names of certain things/tricks etc a lot that I really am unfamiliar with, and I was hoping to be able to post asking what these are... Please note I am NOT asking how tricks are done with them or for any secrets, just WHAT they are, like what kinds of tricks are done with them...

For example, I don't do any card magic, so I don't know any terms for the stuff with them, what is an Invisible Deck?

Also, what are "Chop Cups?"

I know more about things like PK rings, shims, coin rolling, expanded shells, etc... but not so much most of the other props... anyone want to throw a newbie a bone and explain? Thanks.
"Magicians that teach secret knots, misdirection and escape artistry are teaching elements of
ninpo." -From a Genbukan Message Board
Tablic
View Profile
New user
100 Posts

Profile of Tablic
Invisible deck I'm not sure how well I can describe without giving it away, but the best I can say is that it allows you to find their card reversed in a deck

Chop cup, there's a topic right in this section that describes what it is, along with the Cups and balls... and the topic itself is called 'cups and balls'

anything else, I'll see what I can do, since I have a somewhat limited knowledge as well
Andy the cardician
View Profile
Inner circle
A street named after my dad
3362 Posts

Profile of Andy the cardician
Welcome to the Café.

I can only recommend you to start with Mark Wilsons book in magic - this will answer a lot (please use the search function to find more about it).
Cards never lie
Cryozombie
View Profile
New user
Chicago
13 Posts

Profile of Cryozombie
Quote: