The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Euros (Palming, manipulation etc...) (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

iceblade
View Profile
Loyal user
254 Posts

Profile of iceblade
OK, I have searched and found some info on this, but I some like many opinions, so anyone who can contribute is welcome.
When I started learning coin magic, I began palming Euros. I watched Roth palming halves, but I had only Euros because this is the currency of my country. When I tried to Classic Palm Euro coins, all my interest in coin magic was drained in an instant. I thought this was impossible. It was strange, but I continued to practice the classic palm although I never believed it would work. As time passed, it began feeling natural and I was somewhat satisfied, though I still thought that either it was very difficult or that I was really clumsy.
Then, I ordered some Half Dollars from eBay. I put them in classic palm and...OMG!!!! So THAT'S how Roth does it! I'm joking, of course, but it was soooo much easier. Don't think that I have large hands, though. My hands are small to medium, still a bit smaller than average.
Now comes the great question, the Euro has all the disadvantages. 1) Small diameter, 2) thick, 3) doesn't sound good, 4) looks dull. But the moment someone else sees a foreign coin here, he thinks it's gimmicked. The Euro is terrible for coin magic, but just because it's really "impromptu" (people are so used to it, it's an everyday object, a half dollar is a magic prop for them) makes me overlook all its disadvantages. As I only perform for small groups and friends, the impromptu factor is absolutely crucial for me. Magic should spring from the daily and ordinary in my case, not from some special thing.
AAAAAAAAAAAArghhh! I guess I will keep using Euros, but I HATE them!!!!