The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Rings, strings & things » » Invisible string (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mmreed
View Profile
Inner circle
Harrisburg, PA
1432 Posts

Profile of mmreed
I am new to magic and am considering getting some invisible thread...

I was wondering what type you would suggest, as well as suggestions in general - I plan on closeup work, and would like it to be as "invisible" as possible.

Also - just how "invisible" is this thread? If I do a trick infront of someone, is it noticeable, or do I need to be a dozen or so feet away?

Thanks all, and apologies upfront for the "newbie" type question.
Mark Reed
Wedding and Event Entertainment
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
You could write a whole book on this subject. There are different grades of invisible thread - I have some that I can't see three feet away. But it's difficult to work with (because you can't see it!). Other threads can be seen if the light hits them right, or if you're up against a certain back-drop.

My advice - get a thread boss or some type of reel (I have a pen reel, which is excellent, but expensive) and start practicing. The only way to know is to do it.
The spider pen is also an excellent device for the "beginner".

Jim
tbaer
View Profile
Inner circle
Pennsylvania
2004 Posts

Profile of tbaer
Then there is the elastic invisible thread and the non-elastic. Some prefer the elastic because it doesn't seem to break as easy because it stretches. Others like the non-elastic.
mmreed
View Profile
Inner circle
Harrisburg, PA
1432 Posts

Profile of mmreed
What about best places to buy? Im new this, so Im not sure where is a good source online.
Mark Reed
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
Google "magic invisible thread" and you'll have about a days worth of stuff to read and digest.

Jim
tbaer
View Profile
Inner circle
Pennsylvania
2004 Posts