The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » Grand Entrance (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Suffolk
View Profile
Veteran user
400 Posts

Profile of Suffolk
Hi all

I'm completely new to stage illusion (I'm an established, full time working mentalist with international TV credits) but I could use some help from you "old hand stage illusionists".
I have a gig in late Jan performing 4 x 20min shows in a day for a staff "motivational conference" for a major Global corporation. The theme of the conference is "Mind" and I will be starting each plenary session.
There will be an audience of around 1,000 for each of the four sessions.

So far, so "All in a days work" for me.

The problem is that although they want me to perform mentalism someone client end has got it in their head that they want me to make a grand entrance.
They initially want me to fly in from the back of the auditorium over the audiences heads - Until they realised that there wasn't a hope in hell of a rig carrying my weight (very, very, VERY big guy). I told them that it didn’t exactly fit the brief but - Hey! It's their dime, for the amount I'm getting paid I'd dress as Coco the clown for the day.

So I was hoping someone could point me in the direction of an "entrance" illusion that conforms to the following criteria:

Must be off the shelf - No time/ability to build for myself.
Must be practical for a large, fat man.
Needs to be in Amsterdam by 24th Jan
Must be able to reset easily and quickly (four shows a day)
Must be idiot proof to operate (I have no experience in this field at all).
Must be under $9,000 including all cases and shipping to Holland (They wont pay more for that than they are for me and I sure as hell am not paying to ship it there from where I am based in the UK).

I hope you can help me.

Thanks in advance
mvmagic
View Profile
Inner circle
Has written
1322 Posts

Profile of mvmagic