The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Cruise Control & Scezuan Sampler Owners (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

VIEW
View Profile
Special user
687 Posts

Profile of VIEW
Always annoyed me that these things are in Dollars. Anyone considered printing up a small run of uk specific ones? If you own it, I see no copyright issue in creating your own local specific versions. Smallest batch a printer will do is 25 - anyone interested in going in with me?

of course, I'll check to make sure you're a legitimate owner.
cfrye
View Profile
Special user
Portland, Oregon, USA
940 Posts

Profile of cfrye
I'm not a lawyer, but I believe you're creating a derivative work, which is not allowed under the Berne Convention (to which UK is a signatory).

If you're interested in doing what you describe, you should write Lee Earle as lee@lee-earle.com to ask permission.

Curt
VIEW
View Profile
Special user
687 Posts

Profile of VIEW
Really? interesting!

I'm sure arnon will concur with you.

disappointed.
Caliban
View Profile
Special user
727 Posts

Profile of Caliban
Quote:
On 2008-03-19 01:42, cfrye wrote:
I'm not a lawyer, but I believe you're creating a derivative work, which is not allowed under the Berne Convention (to which UK is a signatory).
Curt

I believe that would only apply if you were selling it to others. As the purchaser of a magic effect you own the performance rights and have every right to remake the props and adapt them for your own use.

Szechuan Sampler was published in Syzygy, so any purchaser of that issue or the bound volume would also have the right to make it up for their own use, with any changes they see fit.