The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » What Do You Do With This Degree? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2~3~4
kregg
View Profile
Inner circle
1950 Posts

Profile of kregg
It's a breath of fresh air to see that so many individuals made it through to the other side after a few despots tried to fart us out of their gas factory.

College was so different for my generation and those who went before.
When I was young every parent wanted their children to go to college. These days I wouldn't know how to find a trustworthy institution and my son graduates from high school three years hence. Even MIT has employed that walking contradiction Chomsky.
POOF!
NJJ
View Profile
Inner circle
6437 Posts

Profile of NJJ
Quote:
On 2008-05-30 13:08, stoneunhinged wrote:
When did higher education become job training?

I'm glad someone said it! I studied sociology, English and philosophy for three years because I found it interesting....then I got a REAL job!
ClintonMagus
View Profile
Inner circle
Southwestern Southeast
3997 Posts

Profile of ClintonMagus
Quote:
On 2008-06-02 08:31, mandarin wrote:
"Without getting into politics, what would one do with such a degree?"

Perhaps "find" themself???

Reminds me of another quote:

"I am missing and have gone to look for myself. If I should return before I get back, please ask me to wait!"

THAT kind of "finding"? Smile
Things are more like they are today than they've ever been before...
Magnus Eisengrim
View Profile
Inner circle
Sulla placed heads on
1053 Posts

Profile of Magnus Eisengrim
Quote:
On 2008-06-02 08:51, kregg wrote:
Even MIT has employed that walking contradiction Chomsky.

Why wouldn't any research institution be thrilled to have Chomsky on staff? If he had done nothing other than write [i]Syntactic Structures[\i] he would still be one of America's greatest scholars.