The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Rabbit losing hair (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Ryan Price
View Profile
Special user
winnipeg, MB, Canada
641 Posts

Profile of Ryan Price
Hello Everyone,

I’m new to raising rabbits so I thought I would turn to the folks here on the Café.
My rabbit is loosing his hair in one spot on his hip. He constantly licks at it and its not getting any smaller. I have already taken him to the vet and they gave a treatment that goes on once a month. It has been almost two weeks and its not getting any smaller.
I was hoping that someone on here could help before I take him back to the vet.

Thanks, Ryan
RJE
View Profile
Inner circle
1848 Posts

Profile of RJE
Hi Ryan,

We had a problem with one of our rabbits going bald and it was a form of mites. No idea why he all of a sudden got them or where they came from.

It started as a small patch and I thought he might have been shedding a winter coat. It got progressively worse though, until his fur began to thin and drop out over most of his body.

At that point, we took him to the vet and the vet had to give the rabbit a series of injections and the problem cleared up.

I don't know if that is the problem with your rabbit or not, I can only tell you what happened to ours over here in Ontario.

All the best with your hare Smile

Rob
Regan
View Profile
Inner circle
U.S.A.
5726 Posts

Profile of Regan
Ryan,

I thought of mites also. What did the vet say was causing it? Have you noticed the rabbit digging in that area? If the problem isn't getting smaller it still could be cured. It will take a while for the fur to grow back. If the bald area gets larger, then most likely there is still a problem.

Good luck!

Regan
Mister Mystery
chias
View Profile
Regular user
144 Posts

Profile of chias
Well I used to keep some rabbits so I thought I would like to offer my 0.2 cents here.