The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Agents & Promoters cutting prices? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kent Messmer
View Profile
Veteran user
Montana
337 Posts

Profile of Kent Messmer
I have been doing “fundraising” type shows for many years. Mostly I work for agents that sell the Lions, Optimist, Kiwanis type shows.

The last couple of years this agent has been telling me things have been slow as far as the sales of these shows. Consequently he has asked me to reduce my fee. To this point I have cut my price some but now he is asking me to lower them again.?? Now what he is saying might be true, but remember, he is an agent/promoter.

I have been raising my other show prices and getting them, plus with the fact of fuel and everything else going up, why should these be any different?

My question is to others that do this type of work. Are you getting the same requests from your agents? You can PM me if you don’t wish to post openly.

Thanks
Kent
TheDean
View Profile
Inner circle
Reno, Nevada
2164 Posts

Profile of TheDean
We'll chat directly Kent...

I am at your service and in HIS Service,
Dean
<><
Dean Hankey, *M.D. - The Dean of Success Solutions!
Serving & Supporting YOU and Your Success!
"Book More Shows... Make More Money... SERVE MORE PEOPLE! - Not Necessarily In That Order…"

(*Marketing Doctor) Smile
RJE
View Profile
Inner circle
1848 Posts

Profile of RJE
Hi Kent,

I not only perform these types of shows, but I am also fortunate enough to book them and be stage manager for a couple of promoters that put them together.

I have seen a definite readjustment period take place over the last few years. The fees for all of our performers, for example, had to be lowered to reflect this. Some, as much as 25%.