The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Pasteboard Frolics » » Are Injuries Normal? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Danny Diamond
View Profile
Inner circle
Connecticut
1400 Posts

Profile of Danny Diamond
Well, maybe injury was a bit strong of a word, but do you guys ever have any strain in your fingers or wrists after intense practicing? I am relatively new to flourishes and I was finally getting the one-handed shuffle down pretty well, so I did it for a few hours while watching a movie recently. The next day, my middle and ring finger were sore because of how much they extend to make the initial cut. Is this normal? Does anyone else have any card flourish injuries?
You don't drown by falling in the water;

you drown by staying there.

- Edwin Louis Cole
Houdinez
View Profile
New user
21 Posts

Profile of Houdinez
Yea I think it is normal especially when you get used to a sybil cut routine. Like my middle finger is always strained when I reach a packet here and derre... and I feel like just dropping all the cards on the floor because my fingers hurt. But once you stretch and refresh your fingers, it's alright. Smile
~Houdinez~
(who-dee-nez)
Mark Martinez
View Profile
Inner circle
Wisconsin
1276 Posts

Profile of Mark Martinez
I think so! Just think of it as training just like any other sport, once your fingers get used to the workouts you'll be fine!
Magically,
Mark

Success comes before work only in the dictionary. - Anonymous
Jem
View Profile
Veteran user
Singapore
342 Posts

Profile of Jem
Pangea, I once kinda hurt my fingers while practicing the one-handed shuffle too (only a minor injury though). Yeah, I think that injuries are quite likely when practicing too much of certain demanding flourishes.

I think it's important to let your fingers take a rest every now and then. Resist the urge to practice non-stop (something I find quite hard to do at times). Smile
MagicSponge
View Profile