The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Smooth as silk » » 20th Century Silk (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

B Hackler
View Profile
Special user
778 Posts

Profile of B Hackler
I am new to silk magic and I am wanting to know where I can find information on how to make non gimmicked 20th century silks, how to tie the silks and prep them to use in the effect. Any help would be great. thanks and God bless.
Bob Sanders
View Profile
1945 - 2024
Magic Valley Ranch, Clanton, Alabama
20504 Posts

Profile of Bob Sanders
Try Rice's Silk Encyclopedia Volume 2 Chapter 17.

Bob Sanders
Magic By Sander
Bob Sanders

Magic By Sander / The Amazed Wiz

AmazedWiz@Yahoo.com
hugmagic
View Profile
Inner circle
7665 Posts

Profile of hugmagic
I believe there is also Neil Foster's method described in Volume 4 of Rices or you can get the instructions direct from Abbott's.

I sell a gimmicked or non gimmicked set. The advantage of the non gimmick is you can use the silks for other effects after the 20th century by upsetting the knots. Others prefer the prepared method.

There is no right or wrong on this. It is what suits your needs. I have used both and neither takes longer to set than the other. Both are secure if properly handled in all performing conditions.

Richard
Richard E. Hughes, Hughes Magic Inc., 352 N. Prospect St., Ravenna, OH 44266 (330)296-4023
www.hughesmagic.com
email-hugmagic@raex.com
Write direct as I will be turning off my PM's.
B Hackler
View Profile
Special user
778 Posts

Profile of B Hackler
Thanks for all of the help.
Oliver Ross
View Profile
Inner circle
Europe
1724 Posts

Profile of Oliver Ross
Jay Scott Berry has sold aswell a very nice ungimmicked version of this trick.

Oliver.
Alan Munro
View Profile
Inner circle
Kentwood, Michigan, USA
5952 Posts

Profile of Alan Munro