The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Sucker Tricks (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

adrianbent
View Profile
Loyal user
210 Posts

Profile of adrianbent
I have read a few posts that make reference to "sucker tricks". As I am new to magic, could you give me examples? I don't get it, I mean some spectators don't like magic at all because they feel the whole artform is about "getting one over on them" and so they feel cheated. The magician knows secrets that the audience doesn't. Ok, so maybe I should ask what AREN'T sucker tricks Smile
M@gic Man
View Profile
Regular user
Australia
121 Posts

Profile of M@gic Man
A sucker trick is a trick where the magician reveals the (half) secret. Then performs the trick again and tells the audience to follow(he might give them a backstage veiw. eg. turn the trick around so the audience is watching from behind) and just as the audience think they know what is going on (or what is about to happen) something totaly different happens and blows the audiences mind.

That might not be the best way to explain it but i hope it helps. Smile
Its not what you do, but how you do it.
eddieloughran
View Profile
Special user
942 Posts

Profile of eddieloughran
Hi Adrian,
Your post raises a very important point. Young people, on both sides of the table, regard magic as a contest. The magician tries to fool them and they try to solve the puzzle.

That's part of the reason it has a bad rep. Magic should not be confrontational. It's a sharing of wonder, the unexplained, of having fun.

The question again. Was it my post on the hippity hop rabbits which started this? In my version—I show a picture of a white rabbit, cover it, walk to the other side, raise the cover and the rabbit is gray. As I walk across I turn the rabbit round, making sure the children see me.

I repeat it changing the rabbit back to white. Again letting the children see me turn it.