The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Half Dollar Shell. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Double O Magic
View Profile
Veteran user
365 Posts

Profile of Double O Magic
The Half Dollar shell makes a clunk instead of a clink and looks too shiny. Is this normal?
jprace
View Profile
Inner circle
2209 Posts

Profile of jprace
Yes, the gaff usually doesn't sound like a real coin. And if it's for Scotch and Soda, why does it matter if it's too shiny? It's not being compared to another silver coin.
marty.sasaki
View Profile
Inner circle
1117 Posts

Profile of marty.sasaki
Carry the coins in your pocket for a while. This will dull them, just be careful not to spend the coin.

I drop coins from one hand to the other by dropping the first coin (with the shell down) first. There is still a difference, but it is slight.
Marty Sasaki
Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

Standard disclaimer: I'm just a hobbyist who enjoys occasionally mystifying friends and family, so my opinions should be viewed with this in mind.
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
9988 Posts

Profile of funsway
If you are counting several coins into the other hand a little jingle of the coins alrady there can mask the difference. I often just Disengage and toss the actual coin while palming the shell -- depends on the routine. I think you only have to do the 'clink' occasionally anyway to establish a Pattern of Performance. The actual pouring of several coins from hand to hand doesn't make a 'clink'
"the more one pretends at magic, the more awe and wonder will be found in real life." Arnold Furst

eBooks at https://www.lybrary.com/ken-muller-m-579928.html questions at ken@eversway.com
Double O Magic
View Profile
Veteran user
365 Posts

Profile of Double O Magic