The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » I'm a real boy! » » I am just starting with the use of a puppet. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

PWB
View Profile
New user
71 Posts

Profile of PWB
I have been doing some children magic for a few years and I am trying to learn the use of a puppet. I am not yet ready to start venting but I wish to learn how to make my puppets come to life. Are the any ideas on what resources I can acquire to help me learn..

Pat
harris
View Profile
Inner circle
Harris Deutsch
8812 Posts

Profile of harris
Axtell on his site has some great tips.

Actually experimentation will also show you what works for you.

Work with theatre groups helped this nearly normal entertainer.

Enjoy the process..and pass it on.

Harris
Harris Deutsch aka dr laugh
drlaugh4u@gmail.com
music, magic and marvelous toys
http://magician.org/member/drlaugh4u
tacrowl
View Profile
Inner circle
Maryland
1633 Posts

Profile of tacrowl
Quote:
Are the any ideas on what resources I can acquire to help me learn..

A mirror!

There are plenty of sources discussing and teaching the skill, but the easiest way to learn manipulation is practice. I'd recommend you check Youtube and watch some video of Bill Demar and his frog, or David Strassman and Ted E. Bare. They are both expert at manipulating their puppets. Then get in front of a mirror and play. Watch how the puppet moves and how you can create different "looks". Try double takes and pantomime following a fly, watching a person, etc.

Away from the mirror, practice just keeping the puppet "alive" even when you aren't looking at it. Some do this while watching TV. With practice, keeping the puppet animated with even minor movement will help you avoid "dead spots".