The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » Noob memdeck routines (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

The Futurist
View Profile
Veteran user
331 Posts

Profile of The Futurist
I have memorised the Aronson Stack recently; the thing is that I am actually new to card magic as such, though I have a good memory and grasp of mnemonics, and have performed 'memory/math tricks' on a casual basis for some time. So the Faro shuffle and the pass, etc., elude me at the minute. I am working on my false shuffles, I have a pretty good double lift, but my Elmsley count is, for example, not yet something I'd dare to attempt in front of another person. So that's where I am at currently.

I am looking for tricks that have easy sleights yet also use the power of the stack. There are a couple of great ones on Dennis Loomis' excellent website. My question is: out of the Aronson books and DVDs that deal with memdeck effects, which is the most accessible to a butter-fingered card-fumbler like myself? Many thanks in advance.
Cain
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Angeles, CA
1553 Posts

Profile of Cain
See "Hands Off Memory Test" on Bill Malone's Here I Go Again set. It's, um, hands off. Richard Osterlind teaches a number of cool tricks on vol. 2 of his Mind Mysteries series. However, I would strongly recommend you learn a couple of false shuffles.
Ellusionst discussing the Arcane Playing cards: "Michaelangelo took four years to create the Sistine Chapel masterpiece... these took five."

Calvin from Calvin and Hobbes: "You know Einstein got bad grades as a kid? Well, mine are even worse!"
The Futurist
View Profile
Veteran user
331 Posts

Profile of The Futurist
Thanks Cain. I'm currently working on the first complete-order-retaining overhand shuffle mentioned in Erdnase. Next step is to get it so I can talk and look my interlocutor in the eye at the same time!
puggo
View Profile
Inner circle
2022 Posts