The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Kids show, what to do...? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

newtomagic
View Profile
New user
Merion, Pa
78 Posts

Profile of newtomagic
Hey guys and gals,

I have a kids show coming up, I am a teacher so I know how to interact with the youngins but what kind of material should I use??

I assume that prof. nightmare and spongeballs are a must and some easy to follow card magic...

If you could steer me in the right direction I would appreciate it...

ps I hope I posted this in the right place..

Ari
TheAmbitiousCard
View Profile
Eternal Order
Northern California
13425 Posts

Profile of TheAmbitiousCard
Do whatever you do best. nothing else.
www.theambitiouscard.com Hand Crafted Magic
Trophy Husband, Father of the Year Candidate,
Chippendale's Dancer applicant, Unofficial World Record Holder.
wbzwolinski
View Profile
Loyal user
232 Posts

Profile of wbzwolinski
Ari,

You can do anything that you normally do just gear it toward the age group. What is the age range of the children. I would not use a regular deck of cards to do a card trick for ages 6 and below (7 may even be pushing it). Stay away from card magic for younger kids unless it is a card effect marketed toward that age range. These cards are typically cards with animal pictures etc.

Obviously if they are too young to read you are not going to use effects dealing with words that they need to read as the effect finale (i.e. ABC Stung).

Like Frank says above "Do whatever you do best" ...but gear it to the age range you are perfoming for.

Wolly
Keep it Simple...Play it BIG!!!
Al Angello
View Profile
Eternal Order
Collegeville, Pa. USA
11045 Posts

Profile of Al Angello
Newtomagic
Don't do any card magic for the little ones, they will not be interested, but if they are 12 and older cards will be just fine.

Do you belong to the local SAM, or IBM?