The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Busking in Massachusettes (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

fyi2
View Profile
Loyal user
291 Posts

Profile of fyi2
Guys,
I am intending to start street work this summer. This is my first time. I have no idea about where you can or can not set up a show. I am looking to do a 12-15 minute show, lets say 15-30 spectators. My questions are:
1. Can I stop anywhere, just pick a street and start a show?
2. What about strip malls/malls
3. Do I need a license, or 'approval'?
4. What can the police do - can they 'move me on..'
5. If I hat people does that change things because I am collecting money.

I have Kozmo's DVDs plus other resources, so I am well equipped on the show side I am just nervous about the legality/permissability on the pitch side of the equation.

Any specific input would be appreciated. I will be starting in the Marlborough/Worcester area so a site tips would be FANTASTIC ;-)

Thx

Tony
jazzy snazzy
View Profile
Inner circle
run off by a mob of Villagers wielding
2109 Posts

Profile of jazzy snazzy
"The secret of life is to look good from a distance."
-Charles Schulz
fyi2
View Profile
Loyal user
291 Posts

Profile of fyi2
Thanks Jazzy, it seems from that site Boston does not require licenses and Cambridge does, shame it looks as though it is going to be a piece by piece approach.

Thanks for the starting point.

Tony
fyi2
View Profile
Loyal user
291 Posts

Profile of fyi2
OK sorry to be a noob wimp, but with fairs and festivals do you need to isgn up, or do you just turn up, break open your show and let it rock?
jazzy snazzy
View Profile
Inner circle
2109 Posts

Profile of jazzy snazzy
Each event has it's own politics and regulations. Best to call well in advance.