The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Getting Professional (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

BaoHoang
View Profile
Regular user
Montreal, Canada
140 Posts

Profile of BaoHoang
Hi,

I've been doing magic for 3 years now and I will start to do shows this summer. I have two clients, one that wats me to do 6 days of magic at a camp and one just for a birthday party. I'm a bit confused about how to do a contract and how to procede. I would really appreciate some help.

Thanks,

Bao Smile
Montreal Magician Bao
www.baomagic.com
stijnhommes
View Profile
Special user
568 Posts

Profile of stijnhommes
Contracts don't need to be complicated documents full of legalese.

1. Always include what you offer exactly and for how long. Examples could be "a 45 minutes show each night for each of the 6 days you're at the camp" or "a 1 hour illusion show".
2. Tell the client what you expect from them, not only in regard to payment but also telling you about the estimated number of spectators, the size of the stage and the available technology in the venue -- doing vanishing bandana when neither you nor the client arranged for a CD player can be quite hard.
3. No matter how well planned things are, things don't always go according to plan. The contract should also say what happens when you cannot perform due to an accident or illness and how you are compensated if they cancel on you (make sure they do so well in advance so you don't find out when you arrive).

I'm sure other people can chime in with more advice.
Bob1Dog
View Profile
Inner circle
Wife: It's me or this houseful of
1159 Posts

Profile of Bob1Dog