The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How do I improve my presentation/acting skills? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MrHoudini666
View Profile
New user
66 Posts

Profile of MrHoudini666
I am an amateur mentalist, first of all. It seems that my "revelations" are always anti-climatic.

For example, I have an effect where I let the spectator shuffle a deck as much as they want. I then take it and riffle through it, stopping when they say "STOP". I hand them the deck and they look at the card. I then "read their mind" and tell them which card they picked.

When I slowly reveal their card, the reaction I usually get is a polite smile or "Oh, that's a neat trick". I strongly suspect this is due to my presentation of the effect. How do I go about fixing this?
Spellbinder
View Profile
Inner circle
The Holy City of East Orange, NJ
6438 Posts

Profile of Spellbinder
First of all, you picked a card trick to make the claim you are a mentalist. If you want to be regarded as a mentalist, don't do card tricks. That only identifies you as a magician or a gambler.

I'm not saying an experienced mentalist can't make use of a deck of cards as an example of mental powers of precognition or clairvoyance... just don't do the old "pick a card and I'll tell you what it is" card trick.

What else can you do?
Professor Spellbinder

Professor Emeritus at the Turkey Buzzard Academy of Magik, Witchcraft and Wizardry

http://www.magicnook.com

Publisher of The Wizards' Journals
MrHoudini666
View Profile
New user
66 Posts

Profile of MrHoudini666
Hi Spellbinder,

I am a beginner with only about a month of experience behind me. I can do some billet work and effects with a Swami gimmick (so basically the basics).