The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Question on a square circle (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

DavinSimone
View Profile
New user
Central Louisiana
59 Posts

Profile of DavinSimone
I am working on my own square circle. I am using those cylindrical cement forms you can get at any hardware store. This is my first attempt at a magical prop so I'm going to the cheap-o rout.

My question pertains to the height of the inner and outer cylinders. I have made my inside one about 1 inch shorter than the outer one. Before I get to the felt and further steps I was wondering if that seems like an acceptable height. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Davin L. Simone

Close up/Parlor Magician
IBM Ring 268 - The Cajun Conjurers
http://www.facebook.com/DavinSimone

Above poster suffers from a severe lack of judgment and logic. Assume any points he made are wrong and baseless.
ERIC
View Profile
Inner circle
New Jersey
1188 Posts

Profile of ERIC
The inner tube usually is shorter than the outer one, and MUST be shorter than the outer square, but not so short as to be seen through the opening by someone sitting at a lower angle. ie seated children for example, or front row on stage. Many are made with the outer tube slightly higher than the square so it sticks up above the square when seated, but it does not have to be.
Another thought for a load chamber would be to use PVC plumbing pipe. I used a 10" pipe and split the chamber with fishing line like a tennis racket and can use it to produe the normal production items and then livestock at the end. The weight of the tube helps holed it in place should your "friend" get frisky.
Hope this answers your question.
DavinSimone
View Profile
New user
Central Louisiana
59 Posts

Profile of DavinSimone