The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » This set, that set, which set, best set? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2
TheAmbitiousCard
View Profile
Eternal Order
Northern California
13425 Posts

Profile of TheAmbitiousCard
I started with a crap set of cups and never did the trick. As soon as I upgraded to cups that were more interesting to me, I started practicing much more often and enjoyed the routine a whole lot more.

just some 411 to consider.
www.theambitiouscard.com Hand Crafted Magic
Trophy Husband, Father of the Year Candidate,
Chippendale's Dancer applicant, Unofficial World Record Holder.
Double O Magic
View Profile
Veteran user
365 Posts

Profile of Double O Magic
Quote:
On 2010-12-20 17:50, Bill Palmer wrote:
Quote:
On 2010-12-19 13:26, Double O Magic wrote:
So I am hearing all this talk about fancy Sherwood Cups and all these expansive cups, but one question. I am just starting with the whole cups and balls business. I have just purchased full Tarbell's Course and I want to give this old game a try. If you were just starting, which set would you purchase first?

Thank you,

Double O

Before you do anything else, go to http://www.cupsandballsmuseum.com and read the part on the first page that tells you how to get a username and password. Follow those instructions. It won't cost you a cent. There you will find the largest collection of cups and balls in the world.

The cups on that web site range from cups you can pick up at Starbucks for nothing to the most elaborate cups that have ever been manufactured.

You don't need Sherwoods when you start. Howvever, you do need a decent set of cups.

Here's an analogy. If you had a six year old kid who wanted to learn to play the violin, would you buy him a Stradivarius, a reasonably priced beginner's violin that had been set up properly or a $100 fiddle from Sportsman's Guide?

Just sent the email.