The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Radio earpieces. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Thistle
View Profile
New user
1 Post

Profile of Thistle
Hey Café,

I'm fairly new to Mentalism transferring from a general Magic hobby of about two years. I've done a couple of private shows and they have been a moderate success! I have landed a 10-15 minute slot at my University cultural festival (200-300 people) in about 3 months and I'm bricking it. I suppose I'm just worried about the transition from a small audience to stage. Having read Cabinda's words on sub-minature radio equipment, I admit to being totally intrigued - such technology could be exploited for a great finale.

Are there ear pieces out there which are not too expensive? I'd be happy to DIY something... at the moment I'm fiddling around with radio controlled toys!

Alternatively if this sounds like a truly rubbish idea, I'd appreciate being pointed in another direction. .

Many thanks in advance!
NFox
View Profile
Inner circle
I Do Mentalism Now?!
1101 Posts

Profile of NFox
What type of effect are you looking to do? Ear pieces like anything else are just a type of utility, and there are often other, cheaper ways of accomplishing the same effect. (Even if you as a performer know the difference, the audience likely won't)

So what were you looking to do? We obviously can't discuss methods, here, but at the very least someone might be able to point you towards a more realistic resource for a fairly new mentalist.

-Nick
"Obscuring Reality"- Gone but not forgotten...

FoxIllusions.com
wanda&viktor
View Profile
New user
France
84 Posts

Profile of wanda&viktor
Mentalism is not a hobby like modelism, if you want to have something efective you must learn seriously .
Earpieces are specifics things and you can avoid them. You have to buy some masterpieces books like bob Cassidy or Annemann.