The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Best topics for BOR books and other questions (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Rocketeer
View Profile
Special user
Westchester, NY
965 Posts

Profile of Rocketeer
I write for a living so I've decided to write some BOR (for sale at the back of the room, for you newbies) books. Some will be exclusively for my own use and I may write some for resale.

If I write some for resale, I might offer some of them with exclusive territorial rights so another guy working your town won't be selling the same books you are. Since successful mentalists work all over, the territories might have to be big, like North America, the UK, Australia and so on. I have no idea if the market exists because offering rights in such huge territories would require a price that many performers might deem not worth the exclusivity. I guess I'll find out if and when I do offer such a plan.

On the other hand, if you make your living as a reader at psychic/new age events and Psi parties, I'm guessing exclusivity of a 25 to 100 mile radius from your base of operations might be more than enough. That would permit a much more affordable price.

I'm hoping those who sell BOR merchandise can help me understand the topic better.

What have you found are the most popular topics for a stage show audience?

If you do Psi parties (tarot, rune, palmistry readings) what have you found are the most popular topics?

I'm guessing relationships, increasing your intuition, and various other self-help topics would sell well but it's only a guess, which is one of the reasons for this post.

Do you generally markdown books as "show specials" or "party specials"? For example, giving a book an $11.95 list price and offering a special price of $9.95 or giving a quantity discount?

Do you have an opinion on what size works best, both in terms of dimensions and number of pages?