The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The spooky, the mysterious...the bizarre! » » Marketing Dark Magic (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

David Thiel
View Profile
Inner circle
Western Canada...where all that oil is
4005 Posts

Profile of David Thiel
I'm curious to find out how you guys are marketing your shows. Since my background is in corporate work, I know how to sell those shows. But it's much, much easier (for me anyway...) to sell a comedy magic set on stage or in a hospitality suite than anything of a "darker" nature. (This is probably a good thing -- since I can't really imagine getting full impact from an effect like Luna in the midst of a loud hospitality suite...although pendulum stuff is pure gold there.)

I've learned that, since I perform full time, it's one thing to design a new act...but it's quite another to market it. The vast majority of what I still do is comedy magic. Over the past two years, I've done just under 30 of the "dark magic" shows...but would really like to do more.

Since I'm doing the asking -- I'll happily share what's worked for me. When I designed my dark magic show, I started by approaching corporate clients, people I knew reasonably well, for their personal events. I got two actual "living room" shows out of it.

I really like doing small groups...with the dark magic, anyway...and don't feel comfortable trying to get it to transition to large stages yet. One day I will. But for now -- I'm still getting my dark magic chops set.