The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Doves and don'ts (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ShadeFlamewater
View Profile
New user
Flamewater Circus
10 Posts

Profile of ShadeFlamewater
Hey all.
I've been researching dove magic for a couple months and feel like I'm ready to make my first step and get some doves and a DVD.
Before I do though I have a couple of questions:
Should I get the DVD first or the birds?
Which is the ideal 1st DVD to get? (I'm leaning towards Doves 101)

As I live in Sydney, Australia, does anyone know where I can purchase young healthy doves?

I've read on the forums that doves are prone to dehydration in summer and freezing in winter. I doubt the cold in Sydney will be problematic, but our summers can get pretty warm. Are there any Australian dove keepers here that can offer any advice?

I'm a big animal lover so I would also appreciate any advise as far as tricks/props to stay away from and general dove care.

Finally, a user on another thread mentioned that his doves set off his son's asthma. My fiancée suffers from asthma and I won't be getting the birds if it affects her. Can doves be kept outside?
I'm sure there will be more questions to come. Any advise will be greatly appreciated.
Fábio DeRose
View Profile
Inner circle
San Paolo, Brasile
1477 Posts

Profile of Fábio DeRose
Doves can be kept outside, just watch for cats and other creatures. Always have plenty of fresh water available, as well as good quality food, and it will be easy to care for them. DOves are very low maintenance.

Get a couple, as well - they will make each other company and won't demand much of attention. If you get just one, get a female. Once a male bonds to a person it is VERY difficult to introduce a new bird into the cage.