The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » A newbie with gaffed and gimmicked coins needs advice (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Bapu
View Profile
Regular user
with a paltry
161 Posts

Profile of Bapu
Greeting coin conjurors.

I'm not new to magic in general, but I am new to the use of gaffed and gimmicked coins.

I recently purchased a copper/silver (U.S Half Dollar & English Penny) set from Roy Kueppers which I must say is most excellent!

Learning some effects with the set has whetted my appetite to learn more about the various types of gaffed and gimmicked coins that are available, as well as their use and care.

QUESTION #1: Are there any books or dvds available that address this subject? Not coin manipulation or coin sleights in general mind you, but gaffed and gimmicked coins in particular.

I recently purchased two "stuck" sh**l sets on the big auction site which were advertised as Tango Ultimate Coin (T.U.C) Half dollar sets for nine dollars each. For that price I doubted that they were, in fact, authentic TUC sets.

I gather from posts on this forum that TUC coins employ m*****s. Upon arrival I tested them for that and they failed. I was able to unstick the coins with no problem and found both Half Dollars to contain Mexican 20 peso in****s. Tango uses English pennies, not Mexican 20 peso pieces for their Half Dollar sets, do they not? As best as I can tell they are simple s***l sets.