The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Needle Balloon Problem (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MichaelCGM
View Profile
Inner circle
Oklahoma City
2286 Posts

Profile of MichaelCGM
I just bought another "Needle Thru Balloon." This happens about every three years or so. I've been using this effect for over 30 years and I still can't figure out what happens to the needle. It just doesn't make sense to me.

At some point, it simply starts popping balloons - not the occasional pop but, rather it won't stop popping balloons. I've been told that each time it's used to pop the balloon at the end of a routine, it causes microscopic damage to the tip and eventually ends up creating a burr of some sort. That kinda makes sense.

I've been told to re-sharpen the needle - which I do - and it still pops balloons. I've been told to use a fish-hook sharpener, a whet stone, emery cloth, etc., etc. I've used all with some success. But there comes a point when NONE of them eliminate the problem. Then, it's back to the magic shop and a new needle.

Thirty-PLUS years… what am I missing? Smile
Magically Yours,

Magical Michael

MagicalMichael.com Smile Laus Deo!
bowers
View Profile
Inner circle
Oakboro N.C.
7024 Posts

Profile of bowers
Ha Michael
its true a needle dulls every time you use it.
just like a knife dulls cutting cardboard.
friction plays a big part of this.im not sure you are really getting the needle sharp.
I use a 1/4 inch knitting needle but when I have it sharp you can just touch it to your
finger and it will go in easy.i needs to be very sharp.and of course it has to be lubercated
well so there is no friction to pop the balloon.
todd
revmike
View Profile
Special user
Annville, PA
646 Posts

Profile of revmike
I have been fortunate so far. At least five years and no problems but I keep mine in the lubridated wand/holder.

Mike