The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Do You Read More than the "Average American"? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2~3
MobilityBundle
View Profile
Regular user
Las Vegas/Boston
120 Posts

Profile of MobilityBundle
Okay, I'll be the first on this thread to chime in on the opposite side of the crowd: I rarely read. Books, at least. And fiction, almost never.

To be sure, I think I have a high degree of intellectual curiosity. At different points in my life, I would voraciously consume books on the things I was interested in: chess, math, and physics, mostly. Magic too, but a bit less voraciously. I was a bibliophile... I loved owning these books at least as much as I loved reading them. I loved how they looked on bookshelves, I loved how they smelled, etc.

At one point I decided to quit playing serious chess, so I sold all my chess books. (With the one exception: Averbakh's Chess Tactics for Advanced Players, because it contains some truly beautiful ideas.) When I went to law school, I sold most of my math and physics books.

In law school, I actually didn't even buy books after the first semester (with two exceptions: patent law and antitrust law). When I needed to read cases, I would do so online. When I really needed to read the textbooks (and not just the cases in them), I would stop by the library. And even then, I would really only read the textbooks when I needed to ramp up for a test.

Now I'm a practicing patent lawyer, so obviously I read a lot of patents every day. I spend a fair bit of time on Wikipedia. I read a bunch of blogs mostly covering law and technology (sometimes separately, sometimes together). And I read the news.

Other than that, no reading. And separately, I don't read stuff on paper. I haven't really printed anything for my own reading since about 2006.
Woland
View Profile
Special user
680 Posts