The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Beginner chop cup routine question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Sparrowhwk
View Profile
Regular user
177 Posts

Profile of Sparrowhwk
Hello all
I am sure there are some posts about this, but with so many variations and varieties, I was hoping to cut to the chase with a recommendation that would best suit my situation. So I apologize in advance if this seems redundant to the regulars here.

I am new to the world of the chop cup routine, and my question is therefore at a beginner level:
What is the best chop cup routine to start with for a beginner, and where would I find the routine?
Is there a "best" DVD or booklet?

I do have some specific preferences, because of an idea I have to develop the routine after I have mastered the basics.
- I would ultimately like to be able to do the routine with a ball made up "impromptu"' ie from a borrowed bill or similar ( I realize I will need to learn a "move" to make this work, and advice on that would also be appreciated.
- I don't plan to actually perform the routine with a traditional chop cup , but I need to learn it before I can develop it as I want to.
- I plan to develop the routine into one which appears to be impromptu using everyday items, I'm sure you all know where I'm headed with this.
- Once I have the routine down using the everyday items, I would like to take it one step further which will form phase 2 of the routine.

So I'm wanting to start this journey with a nice "easy" proven chop cup routine, and then take that skill and develop the revised version mentioned above.
I would be very grateful for any thoughts or suggestions.
Thank you all in advance.
Dave V
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas, NV
4824 Posts

Profile of Dave V
You could start with Don Alan's routine, written up by Ron Bauer and available from http://www.thinklikeaconjurer.com/purchase.htm