The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » How to deal with sweating? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

bremenkid
View Profile
New user
17 Posts

Profile of bremenkid
Hi, I am new to the world of magic, have been learning a little more than a year and a half...

I never have been on stage with manipulation before, so I am very curious how magicians deal with sweating.

If it is for example rope, sweating does not matter that much, but in case of card or CD manipulation, how do you manage to do all those things?

I have tried like a 10 seconds card manipulation demonstration infront of some people after a dinner show after my close up routine, and although I was quite relaxed, I felt my muscles contract and not being able to do any cardini single productions or fan productions at all..

When I practice alone, this never happens, but I'm afraid that this will happen when I perform on stage later on...

For sweating, I might also use some drugs for people who sweat a lot(eg Driclor), but still I'm very unconfident...

Does this happen to all of you when you perform?

Shout I just start with ropes and start my card act when I become confident enough? Or can someone suggest what I should do??
damien666
View Profile
Special user
canada
513 Posts

Profile of damien666
You CAN get beta blockers that can help with nerves.. But you are better off just practicing and getting confident.
Confidence comes with having practiced so much that you can literally go into auto-pilot mode and have your muscle memory take over..
Of course you will be nervous when doing something for the first time.. And with nervousness comes sweating and tightening of the muscles..
Keep in mind, some of the best and most famous performers get so nervous backstage that they actually get physically Ill before every show.