The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Did you hear the latest? » » Magic Conventions: Some Advice? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MarkFinn
View Profile
New user
North Texas
80 Posts

Profile of MarkFinn
Folks, I am a lifelong hobbyist and enthusiast who is making the transition into working magician. I've been to a couple of magic lectures at shops, but I've never been to a convention. I'm strongly considering going this year; I'm just not sure which one to attend.

My goals for the trip would be to learn as much as I can; both in terms of performance, but also in terms of being a professional. So, I guess panels and lectures would be my focus, rather than, say, competitions. And while I'm always interested in a dealer's room selling the latest and greatest, it's not my raison d'etre. Interaction, and maybe a little networking, are higher up on the agenda.

Do any of you have a conference/convention they could recommend, based on the above criteria?
Mark Finn
Raconteur, Ne'er-Do-Well

I can be followed, but never shadowed:
twitter.com/FinnsWake
Dennis Michael
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern, NJ
5821 Posts

Profile of Dennis Michael
You still haven't given enough information on what it is you want to do.

If you love Vent, then Vent-Haven is the place to go.

If children, schools, Libraries are what you want to do then, KIDabra International http://www.KIDabra.org is the place to be.

If close-up, stage, are your thing, then SAM IBM are the conventions to go to.

There are many Local conventions Like MAES, that have a mixture.

If wanting to be near the big guys, Magic Live is the place to be.

It really hinges on what you want to do for the rest of your life.

Den
Dennis Michael
Leslie Melville
View Profile
Special user
Blackpool-U.K.
708 Posts

Profile of Leslie Melville