The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The International Brotherhood of Magicians! » » Is it worth it? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Daeld
View Profile
New user
So far, I have about
84 Posts

Profile of Daeld
I'm an amateur magician living in a city without a magic club (nearest one is an hour's flight away) and not even a magic shop!

For years I have mainly done close-up cards/coins/mentalism for family, friends, work-mates, random strangers, etc, but I'm starting to branch out to other things like IT, rope, fire, stage, etc.

My question is this. Is membership in the I.B.M. worth it for someone like me (or with what info you have of me)? I'm guessing that the only real advantage is the magazine (and perhaps whenever I visit a city with a ring in it). How good is the mag?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.
hugmagic
View Profile
Inner circle
7665 Posts

Profile of hugmagic
I would say yes it is worth it. The SAM is also worthwhile.

The Linking Ring has some of the best magic in it's trick parades. It also has a lot of other areas that may interest you.

I would suggest that if you are on the fence about it you can do a couple of things. One write the main office and ask for a sample copy of the magazine. Or buy some older issues off the big auction site and decide for yourself.

To me it is worth it but it is up to everyone's personal tastes.

Richard
Richard E. Hughes, Hughes Magic Inc., 352 N. Prospect St., Ravenna, OH 44266 (330)296-4023
www.hughesmagic.com
email-hugmagic@raex.com
Write direct as I will be turning off my PM's.
Payne
View Profile
Inner circle
Seattle
4571 Posts

Profile of Payne