The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » Stage magic for the close up magician (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ftlum
View Profile
Special user
Roseville, CA
730 Posts

Profile of ftlum
Hi All.

I've heard many people say that a magician should learn about all sorts of magic, even if you don't intend to do that style of magic.
With that in mind, I'd like to learn about stage magic-- something I've never done before.

Are there any books (or videos) that would be useful for someone like me? I'd like to learn concepts and theory that I could apply to close-up (if there is such a book). Would the Steinmeyer or Osborne books be useful? (Although I'm not really after specific illusions, I also wouldn't mind knowing how to vanish a person with just a cloth. I've seen shows where this is done on grass/ regular ground.) The closest thing I have to stage magic at the moment are videos on how to do the multiplying balls.

thanks in advance,

Frank
Anatole
View Profile
Inner circle
1912 Posts

Profile of Anatole
_Magic and Showmanship_ by Henning Nelms might be one place to start. See this discussion on the Café:
http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewt......forum=15
that generated discussions from 2009 to 2013!

I also always liked _Forging Ahead in Magic_ by John Booth. Although it's an older book, some of the information--like how to enter, how to bow, care of the hands, face and clothes, etc--is timeless. There is a copy listed at alibris.com today for $24.68

That book and _Marvels of Mystery_ by Booth were collected in one hardback edition from Supreme called _The John Booth Classics_. The prices for the Supreme book at alibris.com look a little too high. You might try eBay instead.

Karrell Fox wrote a Foreword to _The John Booth Classics_ in which he said:
-----quote-----