The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » If right you win, if wrong you lose... » » 2" vs. 3" Monte Discs? (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

silverking
View Profile
Inner circle
4574 Posts

Profile of silverking
I've got a 3" Monte disc set, and was wondering if anybody had any experience with a 2" set?
Are the 2" discs better in any way? ... Different?

Is the hype more deceptive with smaller discs? ... Easier?

Al's got some very nice 2" sets that are tempting me Smile
LeoH
View Profile
Elite user
437 Posts

Profile of LeoH
Hi, Silverking:

I own a set of Nicholas Johnson's 3" disks and Al's 2" disk set with the dollar coin embedded in one of the disks. I really thought my 2" set would be more of a "novelty" set for me, but I found I started practicing with them and using them more than the larger set. I have smaller hands, and they are easier for me to "hype". I have a more comfortable grip with them. They are also more compact in your pocket. I also discovered that the added weight of the metal coin made it easier to keep track of the "money disk".
silverking
View Profile
Inner circle
4574 Posts

Profile of silverking
Thanks Leo, I think the weight brings an entirely new element to the Monte discs, one that (for those who've ever "lost" the money disc in the heat of the moment) shouldn't be underestimated.
I've got a set of NJ's discs as well.

It was actually the weight "tell" that brought me to looking at getting some new 3" discs from Al ... and then I saw his 2" discs and started thinking I might like a smaller set.

Anybody else have any experience with Al's 2" discs?
shellgame-al
View Profile
Veteran user
Arizona, USA
352 Posts

Profile of shellgame-al
Actually the NJ disk are 3-1/4” and I do make the 3-1/4 disk on request at the same price as the 3” disk..

I just found that the 3” & 2” disk worked better in size, if you want to do other sleights, like a false disk turnover.