The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » First magic act (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Aha! A Latin scholar! Much sand has passed through the glass since I studied Latin ('55-'58).

I'm on a campaign urging young magicians to have a conversation withi their audiences. Jescilito caught my attention with his challenge.

I like your "turning together"! Words DO have meaning, eh!

I remember reading somewhere that about 13% of American English comes from Anglo-Saxon. (G H O T I is pronounced F I S H !) Jay Marshall performed the "douse" box. He said that his father once told him: "Never say 'die'!" (mice--mouse, therefore dice--douse) LOL

Charlie Miller had a "thing" about prepositions. "I just used a preposition to end that sentence with." or Churchill's "Up with which I shall not put!" Jon Racherbaumer is a wordsmith usque ad...!

Enough! I'm assuming you teach Latin! Our schools over here in the colonies, barely teach English anymore! (Witness, some of the horrible posts that must be "decyphered"! 'Twas brillig and the slithy toves, did gyre and gimble in the wabe.

Egad! It's time for coffee!

Ave atque valel!
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
Jay Store
View Profile
New user
UK
30 Posts

Profile of Jay Store