The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » I'm a real boy! » » A real show? (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Blair Marshall
View Profile
Inner circle
Montreal, Canada
3661 Posts

Profile of Blair Marshall
Hi folks,

This is my first time visiting this part of the Café and I have a question.

Backgound...I have always enjoyed puppets and vent but never included them into my shows until I went full-time magic 12 years ago and created several new shows for children. Most of my shows have one or more puppets in them now ie. Halloween has a witch and a pumpkin. I also have a nice collection of characters. I have never considered myself a true vent, more a puppeteer, but seems some folks consider me one. At present in my shows the puppets are used to advance the theme, or move a storyline along. I do not do vent "skits" per se.

Recently I have had inquiries about a full vent "show" whatever that is (for children, and for corporate). I have looked around and I see vents mainly pulling puppet after puppet out and a "skit" being performed with them. Does anyone do a show where there is a continuous storyline or idea being used? I'm looking at the 30/45 minute length for myself.

Your thoughts and input would be appreciated

Blair
TonyB2009
View Profile
Inner circle
5006 Posts

Profile of TonyB2009
In the new year I am hoping to tour what I call a one-man panto. It will be advertised as a puppet show. It will open with me in a nightshirt waking up and telling my dog that we are going to a party that night. But the dog is missing. So the next hour will be spent looking for the dog. Various puppets will help me, and at the end I find the dog, and the show ends. The story isn't very strong but it gives some impetus to the show.
tacrowl
View Profile
Inner circle
Maryland
1633 Posts

Profile of tacrowl
Blair -