The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Must do? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

what
View Profile
Special user
Lehi, UT, USA
643 Posts

Profile of what
I am new to magic and have performed a number of shows (all still free) over the last year. however, they have all been to the 8-12 year old crowd. I volunteered to perform for my kids (twin 4 year olds) pre-school class next month and would like to take this opprotunity to learn something especially for the 4 year old crowd. So heres the question.

What is the ONE thing/routine/gag/ that that you "Must do" when performing to the 4 year old crowd? and most important Why?

Thanks,

Mike
Magic is fun!!!
Stevethomas
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern U.S.A.
3728 Posts

Profile of Stevethomas
Ooooh...4 year-olds are a tough crowd. The whole idea of "object permanence" (the developmental people know what I mean) is just coming into play at that age. You're better off just having fun with some magic, rather than get serious. At that age, it's entertainment that's more fun than magic.

Steve Thomas
Chad C.
View Profile
Inner circle
1522 Posts

Profile of Chad C.
I would definitely have my breakaway wand with me and a tt and silk, which could be pulled out of ears, heads, hands, etc. The breakaway wand would cause lots of laughter as you mess up and the kids think its more funny the more it messes up on you.

Anyway, that's two, so I'm already over my limit. Just bring a goofy personality that gets a lot of laughs.

Oh yeah, do stuff that involves lots of shouting on cue and magic words-things the kids have to pay attention to know when to do it. Lots and lots of audience participation is very important!

Have fun,
Chad
Dennis Michael
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern, NJ
5821 Posts

Profile of Dennis Michael
This age group loves stories and puppets. You don't have to be a vent. The puppet whispers in your ear.