The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » What to teach an aspiring actor (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Russ182
View Profile
New user
61 Posts

Profile of Russ182
Hi , I have been a closeup hobbyist for about twenty five years and have been asked to teach a few tricks to a newly trained actor . I am not sure whether she wants to use it as an introductory USP to bookers or use it in her acting world. My initial thoughts are possibly cut and restored rope , sponge balls . I am thinking about a few easy self workers in cards and a basic D/L . Has anyone got any tips or ideas about what I could teach ? Many thanks fellow Magi. PS Hopefully I may get a few presentational tips in return if I do I will definitely share , it will be interesting to see the two worlds of acting and magic collide.
Gorlzax
View Profile
New user
39 Posts

Profile of Gorlzax
Hi Russ,

as it happens I'm also a trained actor, I got my MA in acting 5 years ago, and I have been deeply into magic about 3 years now. And my first thought is to really make it clear with her what she is hoping to gain from magic. Like you said, does she want to impress bookers or gain new insight into theater work.