The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Best way to get started as a pro? (10 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Oscar.Abraham
View Profile
New user
Mexico
32 Posts

Profile of Oscar.Abraham
Ey guys,

I'm not really new to magic, I've been performing as an amateur for 10 years now, with playing cards and few other props -- no coins, sadly, but eventually I will. So after all the money and time invested in magic, I've decided to get myself started as a professional magician, but I'm feeling nervous about it. Fortunately, I am acquainted with many professional magicians who have given me their advise; many of them would agree that the best way to start, due to having so few props in my repertoire, would be in restaurants, coffee shops, bars, and smaller places where I can table hop. I thought that was good advise. What do you guys think?
Regards,

Oscar
Churken2
View Profile
New user
67 Posts

Profile of Churken2
Read The Approach by Jamie Grant. It is a great book and outlines the steps to help you get where you are looking to go.
Churken2
View Profile
New user
67 Posts

Profile of Churken2
Another great book that you should check out is Close-Up by David Stone.
rhone
View Profile
New user
15 Posts

Profile of rhone
The best way to become a pro is to work for real audience , who pay (directly or indirectly) and wait quality entertainment. the restaurants are a great way to learn timing your act, communicate with people (with alcool and more..), and find many solution at problem you don't think when you're just train or do magic for friends. At the beginning find one -slow - place , where you really could be bad, and one more full of people , with more tables. You 'll progress in no time , because it's easy to understood that if you're not good enough , they ' not pay you or keep you.