The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » ITR REPAIR (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

uncx
View Profile
New user
15 Posts

Profile of uncx
I've been using an itr routine for many years, floating a bill. I find a cheap $ 1.39 one seems to work better for me than the expensive one from the master, James George. Yeah, I know...sacrilege. Occasionally I have to repair one, and I can do that, except when I break the twisted motor loops at the ends. What do you call the stretchy elastic cord that does the work, and where can I get it? I'm pretty sure a sewing elastic thread would not be what I need...

Actually, at $1.39 I could just chuck it out. I'd rather just experiment with tension.

Magic Grandpa
Signet
View Profile
Loyal user
257 Posts

Profile of Signet
I have heard from people who make their own It, that they use black wooly nylon thread. They buy it from a sewing store and then strip out the individual strands. It seems like a lot of work. Steve Fearson makes Vectra thread that works really well. I prefer to use this for my ITR. It costs more than $1.39, though.
uncx
View Profile
New user
15 Posts

Profile of uncx
Your is a good one! I do rewind my ITRs using wooly nylon as the IT. Love it. What I need tho, is the motive power ("rubber bands") to turn the reel for the retract. I don't even know that you call that elastic , as is really not rubber.

Reloading the reels for the spider pen and Tarantula is a cinch...no little hole to have to go through! Just empty the fouled up reel using a pointy X-Acto knife to cut the thread, Stick the end on the top of the reel with a bit of wax, and use the motor to wind the IT off a playing card and onto the reel. About a 2 minute job, and a LOT cheaper that buying new loaded reels!.