The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » How Your Business Developed (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2~3
Jim Snack
View Profile
Inner circle
1338 Posts

Profile of Jim Snack
Good point, Martin. Service clubs are indeed an excellent market for fundraising shows.

I was thinking about doing a short, 15-20 minute "teaser" show for their monthly meeting. Doing a short set is a good way to break in new material without giving away the farm. In addition, it can also be a great showcase for a performer who wants to interest the service club in doing a fundraising show, or as a way to introduce yourself to the members who may have the power to hire you for their company events.
Jim Snack

"Helping Magicians Succeed with Downloadable Resources"
www.success-in-magic.com
magicah123
View Profile
Regular user
146 Posts

Profile of magicah123
I am a teacher/magician and I'm trying to put together A workshop for teachers on how to incorporate magic within the school curriculum. This can help motivate their students!!!! I will not be introducing magic props such as thumb tips etc... I just want to teach the basics. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks
adam
Jim Snack
View Profile
Inner circle
1338 Posts

Profile of Jim Snack
Adam,

I do a workshop for teachers on this subject and have found that optical illusions, brain teasers, and puzzles that they can use to challenge their students work well.

Also a few good mind reading tricks and making chalk appear magically work well.

Avoid anything that requires any skill, as they simply won't put in the necessary time. Good luck.
Jim Snack

"Helping Magicians Succeed with Downloadable Resources"
www.success-in-magic.com
Brent McLeod
View Profile
Inner circle
1792 Posts

Profile of Brent McLeod
Brilliant advice througout this entire thread Guys!