The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » I want to see the manager! » » Website Outages? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

dooblehorn
View Profile
Inner circle
Pittsburg, CA
2481 Posts

Profile of dooblehorn
Will there be any kind of announcement or explanations for the site outages that occurred today and the other day? Site was inaccessible for hours, and confirmed by various online website status tools.
Just wondering.
Boomer
View Profile
Special user
Prosper, TX
668 Posts

Profile of Boomer
I work in the industry, it wasn't just TMC.

https://www.thousandeyes.com/outages/

Dave
dooblehorn
View Profile
Inner circle
Pittsburg, CA
2481 Posts

Profile of dooblehorn
Thanks Boomer, I also work in industry. Good point though, it could have been host or host's provider that TMC uses. Just wondering why there's never any acknowledgement or any recap about hours long outages. We could never get away with that with my company website.
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4854 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner
Internet outages are something we all live with everyday. If we are planning to shut the Café down for some reason like maintenance, we do send out an announcement but that is a very rare occurrence. If the outage is a surprise and out of our control, we couldn't notify the membership until the situation was resolved, at which point, what would be the point? We could say "it was down and now it's up." Would it matter to anyone whether the server was down or someone kicked out a plug? Most members wouldn't even know there was a problem unless it was a long extended outage.