The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Magic on Teens (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Professor Corleone
View Profile
New user
Northern California
2 Posts

Profile of Professor Corleone
As a High School teacher I try to get teenagers to laugh or smile everyday. It’s a challenge I pose to myself everyday. I like to use items I find around campus to perform magic with. For instance, books, pens, pencils, etc. Do y’all have any advice for this type of free close-up/walk-round magic I’m performing on teenagers? Any suggestions on gimmicks to buy, trick decks, etc….P.S. Gregory Wilsons Pointless kills. Thanks for your help.
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
9987 Posts

Profile of funsway
Iam prodcuing Series of ebook using 'found' objects in na impromptu setting. Two complete, "Single Stone" and "Pair of Stones" published on Lybrary.com and "FistFull' almost ready
and more to come. The Moves, SLeights and Stratagems can certianly be applied to a classroom, Caféteria or 'under the trees' setting.

When I was substitute teacher in Sacramento decades ago I regularly used magic effect in conjunction with my lesson efforts.
I found several effects that I carried to allow for adaptation to a storyline or as a 'visual aid' to support a lesson theme.
Write me ken@eversway.com to discuss.

As general advice for doing magic effects for students (not just teens). Never reward bad behavior or complete an effect with disruption.
STOP is always an option. Then the students who are interested and excited can control the others.
Make magic a conditional bonus that only works with the cooperative energy of the entire group.

Yes, you can agree to meet with some appreciative students later, but a classroom is a controlled environment in which respect is paramount.